My Fine Feathered Friends

Over the years, I have been blessed to photograph some truly wonderful birds, both at home and during our travels.  Hubby and I are empty-nesters and now share our home with two beautiful standard poodles.  We love to go camping with the dogs in our RV regularly for many reasons, but just being in nature and enjoying the wildlife is certainly one of the things we love the most.  I especially love birds, and these beautiful winged creatures have always been inspiring and magical to me, even as a child.

One of the first bible verses I remember learning as a child in Sunday School spoke of these wonderful and unique creatures that float freely in the sky above us.  Not only did this verse help me to understand how much God loves me, it stirred a love and appreciation of birds in me at a very early age.  It was a simple Sunday School lesson that has stayed with me all of my life, and I have been a bird watcher to some degree ever since.

Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?”  — Matthew 6:26 (RSV)

I have delighted in watching birds on so many occasions, laughing at their personalities, imagining where their travels take them during the course of their lives, wondering what challenges face them and even wondering what they might be thinking at times as we seemed to be keeping an “eagle eye” on one other.  I have also tried to be a good steward toward birds as I can, especially at home, and I adore learning more about birds at this point in my life.

Photographing animals has been one of my favorite exercises in photography, especially in more recent years, and I seldom pass up the chance to try to capture a good photograph of any animal when the opportunity comes my way.  But most of all, I love to photograph birds.  I have been quite blessed to have captured some great photos of birds over the years, mostly by just being at the right place at the right time with my trusty Canon camera.  Having some very cooperative birds that often seemed to pose for me as I attempted my photographs has certainly been a big help, too.  Of course, I do not always have my good camera with me when a great animal photo presents itself, but thankfully, I often have my phone camera available to hopefully capture a fairly nice photo anyway.

“Everyone likes birds. What wild creature is more accessible to our eyes and ears, as close to us and everyone in the world, as universal as a bird? — David Attenborough

For the month of November as a part of BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo challenge, I am thrilled to finally share some of my favorite bird photos, as well as some interesting stories behind them.  One of my goals in birdwatching and bird photography is to become more adept in identifying the birds I encounter, and perhaps readers can even assist in identifying a few birds on occasion.  I also selected a photo-friendly light-box theme to share photos here, and for that reason, I actually encourage readers to read posts on the site when possible instead of reading via their feeds.

The header photo here at Animal Wonder is one of my all-time favorite bird photos.  In my next post, I will share the full photo and the cute story on why it is one of my favorite bird photos to date.

dove-in-autumn-a.jpg

During the daily blog challenge this month, I hope you enjoy these fine feathered friends!  Perhaps you may also be inspired to pursue birdwatching a little more, too.  I don’t know of many free hobbies that are quite as surprising and enjoyable as this one, and we are even encouraged to “look at the birds of the air” and consider their lives as creatures of God as compared to our own.

After this inaugural month of feathered friends posts is done, I will happily continue to post some of my favorite animal photos and stories here, even though posts will be shared a little less often.  But for now, it’s all about some very special birds in November.  I hope you will come along each day for the fun and stay around for even more great animals after that!

NaBloPoMo November 2014

All Original Content — ©animalwonder.wordpress.com — All Rights Reserved

Thanks for reading today! I would love for you to share your own thoughts, too!

