A Colorful “Gal” in the Everglades

In yesterday’s post, we admired the regal swim of a beautiful swan in Kauai.  In today’s post, we are traveling about as far as we can go across the United States to the Everglades of south Florida!

One of my goals for the NaBloPoMo challenge in November is not only to share some good posts on birds each day this month, but to also go back through my photo archives and hopefully identify some birds that I have not previously identified.  Such is just the case with today’s beautiful bird!

In December 2010, a week prior to Christmas, my hubby and I opted to take a cruise with our son as our respective Christmas gifts, and it was such a fun and memorable trip from Miami to Key West, the Bahamas and a small private island, even though a major cold front blew in the day we left Miami on our cruise.  We also scheduled an extra day at the end of our trip to see a few more places in south Florida prior to flying home to Texas, and a visit to Sawgrass Recreation Park was a totally unplanned treat for us.  None of us had ever taken a ride on an air boat, and what a thrill it was to ride on the boat through a beautiful part of the Everglades with a fabulous tour guide to tell us all about the area and the wildlife.  I cannot recommend this ride highly enough to anyone thinking about visiting here and taking a boat ride.  I will never forget it, and over time, I have many great photos to share here from both the boat ride and the animal park, too.  It was just an overload of animal wonder there, to be sure!

After taking our ride on the air boat, we also visited their small animal park nearby, and I took so many great photos, including the photo below.  Until recently, though, I never knew what this beautiful bird was.  Thanks to this month-long effort on bird blogging and the necessary research behind it, I finally discovered what this bird is…a Purple Gallinule!

Purple Gallinule - South Florida Everglades

Purple Gallinule – South Florida Everglades

Purple Gallinules are found year-round in south Florida in the United States and in summer months in some other coastal areas along the Gulf of Mexico.  They are most commonly found across South America, so we were fortunate to see this lovely bird on our visit to the Everglades in mid-December.  I especially remember the beautiful and stunning colors of this bird, not only on its beak, but also on its body, and both males and females are brightly colored in this way.  They are medium-sized birds, and even though they do not fly very well, they are excellent waders and walk on lily pads and other marsh vegetation quite well.  Even though they are called Purple Gallinules, their feathers are somewhere between a blue and purple color.

Purple Gallinule at the Feeder

Purple Gallinule at the feeder

I am grateful that after four years, I finally know now what this unique bird is.  It is such a beauty, too!

For more information on where to best see these colorful birds, feel free to check this site on the birding trails of Florida.  There is also a fabulous picture of a Purple Gallinule there, too.

NaBloPoMo November 2014

All Original Content — ©animalwonder.wordpress.com — All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “A Colorful “Gal” in the Everglades

  1. Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    I love birds with those iridescent feathers. I have two chickens who have black feathers with green and purple iridescence. So glad you finally found out what these birds were! 😉

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I also add participating blogs to my feed reader.

    So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, I’m reading you loud and clear, I have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts, and you’ll likely see me drop by again during November.

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, thank you so much for adding me to your blogroll! This is a fun project that I have considered doing for quite some time, and NaBloPoMo was just the incentive I needed to get started. I appreciate you providing that link to blogs and I will check it out later today, for sure. Thanks again!

      Like

Thanks for reading today! I would love for you to share your own thoughts, too!

