“Jonathan”

“He was not bone and feather but a perfect idea of freedom and flight, limited by nothing at all”
― Jonathan Livingston Seagull

South Florida Seagull

A lone seagull on South Beach

Seagulls have always captured my imagination and my fancy.  I do not live near the ocean, so whenever I have the opportunity to visit a beach area, I try to savor it as much as possible and take pictures to capture the moments I most enjoyed there.  Such is the case with today’s photo.

I took this photo on our one and only evening on South Beach before departing on our cruise the next morning in December 2010.  The beautiful flight of this gull just seemed to capture the peace and the sense of adventure that I felt that beautiful evening as our wonderful week of vacation with our son began.  The gull flew off on the gentle sea breeze with the last glimmer of sunlight magically illuminating it against the water, all to the sounds of the pounding ocean waves and music heard faintly in the distance.  If ever there was a gull that reminded me of Jonathan Livingston Seagull, this is it.

I adore the ocean for so many reasons, and having the opportunity to once again photograph these fanciful birds is always a treat!

Also, I would like to add my humble thanks today to all of our veterans and active duty service members!  I will never be able to put into words my humble appreciation for what you have done, and continue to do, for our nation.  With much love and humble heart today, I thank you very much!

NaBloPoMo November 2014

All Original Content — ©animalwonder.wordpress.com — All Rights Reserved

Thanks for reading today! I would love for you to share your own thoughts, too!

