Noisy Neighbor

Earlier this week, I heard this noisy songbird just outside my kitchen window.  I knew it was a Blue Jay even before I saw it, as their sound is pretty distinctive, and they are fairly common birds in my area.  When I looked out the window, I actually saw two of them.  I had never been so close to a Blue Jay before, even though a window separated us, so I grabbed the camera and took some decent photos of them, despite the fact that they were in the shade of the bush most of the time.

Blue Jays are intelligent, keep tight family bonds and have a little bit of attitude.  I enjoyed having a “stare-down” with the one pictured below, and we sized each other up through the window for several minutes.  Notice the interesting “crown” on the forehead of this one.  Such markings are common for Blue Jays, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen markings so striking as this one.

Blue Jay

Blue Jay, a noisy neighbor!

My area is actually on the very edge of their frequented habitat, and we do not see them quite as often as we did years ago.  As there are a fairly large number of oak and pecan trees here, though, the blue jays seem to continue to hang around.

Seeing Blue Jays always brings back my memories of seeing them in fairly large numbers at my parents’ house growing up.  We had a two large pecan trees in our back yard, and the jays frequented them to eat the pecans.  My father would get a little frustrated at times with the large number of pecans we lost to them, but we also enjoyed seeing them, too.  At times, it was so noisy in the yard that we had trouble hearing each other in the kitchen inside the house.  It is a fun memory, and I always enjoy seeing these pretty birds with big attitudes!

Thanks for reading today! I would love for you to share your own thoughts, too!

